‘Promenade’ or ‘pleasure’ piers were predominantly an English and Welsh seaside phenomenon. However, a large number of structures, additional to those detailed in the main sections of this website, but referred to nonetheless as ‘piers’ or ‘jetties’, were built throughout Scotland, Northern Ireland, Wales and England. In the main, these structures were built as landing stages and, as well as making their traditional appearances around the coastline, were to be found ‘inland’ along rivers and their estuaries or along lake shores.

This listing does not include piers constructed solely for military, industrial or lifeboat use. It does, however, include some private jetties.

Construction and demolition dates are given where known and links to reference websites and/or photographic images of the piers will gradually be provided where available. Names in Bold type indicate particularly attractive and interesting structures. The icon indicates a separate additional link to the pier via Google Streetview.


Achnacloich Archaracle Ardgour Ardnadam (1858-) Armadale
Ayr Balloch (c1846-) Balmaha Baltasound Belmont
Blairmore (1855-) Brinyan Broadford old Broadford Corry Brodick (1872-)
Bruichladdich Burray Burwick Campbeltown Canna (1892-)
Carbost Carradale Castlebay (c1880-) Colintraive (1850s) Coll (1967-)
Colonsay Corpach Craighouse Craigmore Craignure (1964)
Cromarty Dunvegan Egilsay Ellenabeich Feolin Ferry
Fishnish Mull Flotta Flugarth (Laxo) Fort Augustus/Inveroich Foyers
Gill (Pierowall) Girvan Gourock (c.1888-) Greenock Custom House Gutcher
Hawes (S.Queensferry) Helensburgh (1878-) Holm/St Marys Hunter’s Quay (1858-)
Inveraray Inversnaid (1846-) Kames (1856-) Kennacraig (1888-) Kettletoft / Sanday
Kilchattan Bay(1880) Kilcreggan (1850-) Kilmun (c.1820s-) Kinloch(Rum) Kippford (1900-)
Kirkwall (1866?-) Lamlash (1884-) Largs (1832-) Lerwick Ferry Terminal Lerwick Victoria
Lochaline Lochboisdale(c1881-) Lochinver Lochmaddy Lochranza (1886-)
Luss (c.1846-) Mallaig Mid Yell Millport Old (c.1833-) Moclett (Papa Westray)
Newport-on-Tay North Queensferry Oban North (1870-) Oban Railway (1882-)
Ormidale (1856-) Otter Ferry Port Askaig Port Bannatyne (1857-) Portencross (1912-)
Port Glasgow Portree Raasay (1912-) Rowardennan St Margaret’s Hope
St Mary’s Salen (c.1873-) Saltcoats Scalasaig (1965-) Scapa Bay
Scarinish Scrabster South Walls Stornoway Stranraer
Stromness (1890s-) Stronachlachar Strone (1847-) Symbister(Whalsay) Tarbert (Kintyre)
Tarbert (Lewis) Tarbet (c.1846-) Tighnabruaich Tingwall Tiree / Gott Bay (1914-)
Tobermory (1864-) Trossachs Uig King Edward Ullapool Ulsta
Weymss Bay Whitehall Stronsay


Aberdour Abriachan Acharn (1889-Lost) Ardeonaig (1889-lost) Ardesier(1900s-Lost)
Ardlui Ardrishaig(Pre 1817-1993) Ardrossan Montgomerie Ardrossan Winton Ardtalnaig (1889-lost)
Arrochar(1850-cld 1977) Auchenlocan (1879-lost) Ballchullish (Lost) Balloch Bay Banavie (1822-)
Baremman (1878) Berry’s Pier (lost) Bonawe (closed) Boath of Toft Bowling (1848-)
Cairnie – derelict Carrick Castle (1877-) Clynder (c1866-1892/3) Coulport (1880-Lost) Cove (1852-cld.1946)
Craigback Jetty Craigendoran (1882) Crarae (1880) Creggans Douglas (c1858/9-)
Dumbarton Castle (1875) Fairlie (c1840s-Lost) Fearnan (1882-lost) Ford Pier (1876-ruined) Garelochhead(1845)
Greenock Princes (-1960s) Hole of Oddsta Inch Garvie Inchyra Innellan (1850-ruined)
Inverchapel Inverfarigaig(1822-cld 1939) Invergloy Invermorriston(1822-cld 1939) Kenmore (1882-)
Killin (1882-Lost)

Kirn (1845-1993) Kyleakin (1881-1903) Lawers (1889-disused) Lismore
Loch Awe (1880-) Locheckhead Lochgoilhead (1850-) Lochskiport (1879-derelict) Machrie Bay
Rosneath (1845-1942) Row (Rhu) St Ives Sandbank Shandon (1886-1969)
Skaill Skelmorlie (1877) Skipness (1879-) Spinningdale Strachur (1878-lost pre-1914)
Strome Ferry (1870-1937) Tollie Toward (1863-1922) Whiting Bay (1899 c.1962)



Bangor North (1895-1980) Bangor Eisenhower (1983-) Holywood (1869-1883) Portaferry Warrenpoint (1908-1976)


Hull Minerva Hull Victoria/Corporation New Holland (1848-)
Coniston (1981-) Coniston Brantwood (1984-) Coniston Park-a-Moor(1981-) Loweswater Ullswater Howtown(1877-)
Ullswater Glenridding(1877-) Ullswater Pooley Bridge(1877-) Windermere Ambleside(1869-) Windermere Bowness(1869-) Windermere Bowness Pier 2
Windermere Bowness Pier 3 Windermere Ferry Hotel(Lost) Windermere Lake Side(1869-) Windermere Low Wood Windermere Storrs
Blue Boar Chatham Sun Esplanade Gillingham Old Admiralty Laser
Port Victoria (Lost) Queenborough(Lost)(1876-1955) Rochester St Mary’s Sheerness(Lost)(1835-1971)
Strood (1905-) Thunderbolt Upnor
Birkenhead (Woodside) Eastham (1898-) Egremont (1876-Lost) Liverpool Pier-Head(1842-) Monks Ferry (1838-)
New Ferry(1865-Lost) Rock Ferry(1709 – 1957) Seacombe (Wallsey) (1876-) Tranmere (1877-1904)
Bankside (Lost) Barrier Gardens (Sargeants) Battersea Festival Battersea Pleasure Park(Lost) Battersea Square (Lost)
Blackfriars Butler’s Wharf Canary Wharf Carlyle Battersea Bridge(Lost) Charing Cross
Chelsea Cadogan Chelsea Harbour Cherry Garden Commercial Dock Dartford Long Reach (Lost)
Erith (Lost) Gravesend Marine Parade(lost) Gravesend Royal Terrace Gravesend Stuarts Rd
Gravesend West Street Great Eastern (Lost) Greenhithe (Lost) Greenwich Gallion’s Reach
Hammersmith Hammersmith Bridge (Lost) Kew Kingston Lambeth
Lambeth L.F.B. H.Q. Limehouse London Bridge (Lost) London Bridge City London City Airport
M.A.B. Pier (Lost) Millwall Nelson (Lost) Nine Elms (Lost) North Woolwich
North Woolwich Free Ferry Old Swan (Lost) Pimlico Grosvenor Rd(Lost) Prospect Putney
Putney Bridge (Lost) Richmond Landing Stage Rosherville (Lost) Rotherhithe (Lost) Royal Festiv.Hall/Rodney(Lost)
Royal Naval Reserve St Helens (Lost) St Katherine’s Scandic Crown Hotel Scantlin (Closed)
South Woolwich (Lost) South Woolwich Free Ferry St Helena (Richmond) Swan Lane Swan Wharf
Temple Tilbury Riverside Tunnel (Wapping) Tucks Richmond Bridge Upper Charing Cross
Victoria (Lost) Wandsworth Wapping (2) Waterloo West India Dock
North Shields South Shields


Bournemouth (1850-1970) Clacton (Lost)(1898-1940) Dover Marina Pier Drakes Island (1939-) East Cowes Trinity(1845-Lost)
Great Yarmouth (1808-) Littlehampton Morecambe Stone Jetty(1848-) Osborne (Lost) Plymouth Phoenix Wharf
Porthcawl Harbour Pier Ryde Apley (Lost)(1873-) Sandbanks/Poole (4) Starcross Trefor
Warsash Westcliff (Lost) Weston-S-M SeaQuarium (1995-)


Arnside (1857-) Barry (1889-1970s)
Bembridge Harbour(1870s-1928) Burton (Pembs.) Cowes Fountain(1841-Lost)
Deganwy (1847-1940) Dover Admiralty (1851-) Dover Prince of Wales
Exmouth (1865-)
Fort Victoria (1856-derelict) Grange-over-Sands/Bayley Lane (1870-Lost) Grange-over-Sands/Clare House (1893-1928) Harwich Trinity House(1864-) Ilfracombe (1873-)
New Passage (1864-Lost) Plymouth Saltash Portishead (1867-Lost) Rottingdean (1896-1909) Sandbanks Haven (1898-1940)
Sheerness Shotley (1894-) Stokes Bay (1855-) Tollesbury (1905-1921) Torquay Haldon (1870-)
Treharne’s (1858-1902) Woody Bay(Devon)(1897-1902)